Scientific Organising Committee

Elinor Ostrom
(Chief Scientific Advisor to the 2012 Conference) 2009 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, Indiana University, USA

Lidia Brito (Co-chair)
Director Science Policy and Capacity Building (Natural Sciences), UNESCO, France and Mozambique

Mark Stafford Smith (Co-chair)
Science Director, Climate Adaptation Flagship, CSIRO, Australia

Andrew Bennett
President of the Tropical Agricultural Association (UK). Chair of the Boards of
Trustees of the Centre for International Forestry Research, Chair of SciDev.Net, UK

Raymond Bradley
International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme, USA

Sandra Diaz

Felix Dodds
Executive Director, Stakeholder Forum for a Sustainable Future, UK

Rowan Douglas
CEO Global Analytics, Willis Re; Chairman, Willis Research Network, UK
Nadia El-Awady
Journalist, Board member of World Federation of Science Journalists, Egypt

Vesile Kulaçoğlu
Director of the World Trade Organization's (WTO) Trade and Environment Division
Rik Leemans
Earth System Science Partnership, Netherlands

Adebayo Olukoshi
Professor of International Economic Relations and Director, African Institute
for Economic Development and Planning, Senegal

Johan Rockström
Director, Stockholm Resilience Centre, Co-chair Future Earth Initiative, Sweden

Priya Shyamsundar
Program Director, South Asian Network for Development and Environmental
Economics, India

Ilana Wainer / David Griggs
World Climate Research Programme, Argentina / Australia

Oran Young
International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental
Change, USA

Guoguang Zheng
Professor of Atmospheric Physics and Director, Chinese Meteorological
Administration and member of the UN Secretary General's panel on Global
Sustainability, China

Ex-officio Members

Ghassem Asrar / Roberta Boscolo
World Climate Research Programme

Wendy Broadgate
(Secretary) International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme

Deliang Chen / Carthage Smith / Gisbert Glaser
International Council for Science

Anantha Duraiappah / Deborah Rogers / Leisl Neskakis
International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental

Owen Gaffney
(Communications Committee) International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme

Richard Hart
(Coordinator) Elsevier, UK

Ada Ignaciuk / Martin Rice
Earth System Science Partnership

John Ingram
(Local Organising Committee)
NERC / University of Oxford, UK

Anne Larigauderie / Anne-Helene Prieur-Richard

Peter Liss
(Local Organising Committee) The Royal Society, UK

João Morais
(Fundraising Committee) International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme

Patricia Piñho
International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme Brazilian Regional Office

Sybil Seitzinger
International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme

Karen Smyth
(Board of Patrons Liaison, Session Support) International Geosphere-
Biosphere Programme

Planet Under Pressure 2012 live web streaming Read the Planet Under Pressure 2012 blog Follow us on Facebook Planet under Pressure in the media Debategraph - add to the knowledge map How we're going to make Planet Under Pressure 2012 carbon neutral